+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: Rifkin Weiss & Associates

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6

    Rifkin Weiss & Associates

    Rifkin Weiss & Associates seem to be an offshoot of the Skyline Advisory Group micro-cap OTC scam network. They ostensibly operate out of Pflugerville, TX, using the following contact details:
    RIfkin Weiss & Associates
    342 Green Meadows
    Suite 514
    Pflugerville,
    Tx 78660
    USA

    Tel: + 1-512-692-9313
    Fax: + 1-512-532-6552
    Email: information@rifkinweiss-associates.com
    Typographical clues also raise suspicions:
    a) The 2nd letter (I is capitalized in "RIfkin" whereas it isn't on the website. Sloppy and unprofessional 'investment broker'.
    b) Why no commas after all but one address line?
    c) The state abbreviation and zip does not follow convention.
    d) "USA" as a country abbreviation is not generally used by US-based companies.

    A quick street view check on Google Earth reveals that the company HQ address is patently fraudulent.

    Also, 'employees' do not have individual email addresses - only a single company email address exists.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    11,010
    How did you find this company? Is it in an email?
    Silence is the scammer's best friend; knowledge is the scammer's worst enemy. 沈黙は詐欺師のよき友達、知識は詐欺師の天敵。Think globally, act globally.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Celtic Lands
    Posts
    4,646
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclops View Post
    A quick street view check on Google Earth reveals that the company HQ address is patently fraudulent.
    http://zip4.usps.com/zip4/zcl_0_results.jsp - US Postal Service address checker:

    Find a ZIP Code by entering an address.
    (You can also search for a partial address, such as "Main Street, Fairfax, VA.")
    We're sorry! We were unable to process your request.

    The address was not found.
    Please check the address below.
    You may want to utilize the Yellow Pages and/or White Pages below.

    * Required Fields

    * Address 1 342 Green Meadows
    Address 2 Suite 514
    * City Pflugerville
    * State TX
    ZIP Code 78660
    And trying to find them in the telephone directory:

    http://yellowpages.superpages.com/li...ss&R=N&STYPE=S

    No Yellow Pages listings found
    Checking the URL given "RIFKINWEISS-ASSOCIATES.COM " at GoDaddy:

    Registrant:
    Rifkin Weiss
    342 Green Meadows
    Pflugerville, Texas 78660
    United States

    Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
    Domain Name: RIFKINWEISS-ASSOCIATES.COM
    Created on: 05-Feb-09
    Expires on: 05-Feb-10
    Last Updated on: 16-Mar-09

    Administrative Contact:
    Weiss, Rifkin information@rifkinweiss-associates.com
    342 Green Meadows
    Pflugerville, Texas 78660
    United States
    5126929313

    Technical Contact:
    Weiss, Rifkin information@rifkinweiss-associates.com
    342 Green Meadows
    Pflugerville, Texas 78660
    United States
    5126929313

    Domain servers in listed order:
    NS499.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM
    NS500.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM
    The website is a clone of http://www.olympia-lawfirm.com/HomePage.shtml with some reformatting.
    Domain name: olympia-lawfirm.com

    Registrant Contact:
    Olympia Law Firm
    George Harnett ()

    Fax:
    50 Pine Street
    New York, NY 10018
    US
    ....
    Creation date: 24 Dec 2008 09:00:10
    Expiration date: 24 Dec 2009 09:00:10
    Contact is:
    Olympia Law Firm
    Met Life Building, 200 Park Avenue
    New York City,NY 10166
    Phone: +1-212-409-8298
    Fax: +1-212-409-8527

    and

    80 Robinson Road
    Singapore 068898
    Phone: +65-6491-5051
    Fax: +65-6491-5117

    Which doesn't have an entry published in the New York telephone directory! Doing a reverse search on the number given, gets an "Unpublished" message.

    Do we have any more information on these companies, especially any emails with headers, please?
    Stipendia enim peccati mors sunt.
    "Entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem" : Guillelmus de Occam

    Do not annoy the Dragonsfor you are small and crunchy and good with Ketchup.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    8,839
    Like GD says, we need some context to know how this company is used. So if you have an email that is really helpful. With headers is even better.
    "blessed is the hand that grivets."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Email header (only the recipient's name and other indentifier info has been changed as her request):
    Code:
    Return-path: <weiss@rifkinweiss-associates.com>
    Envelope-to: recipient@domainname.org
    Delivery-date: Thu, 30 April 2009 14:50:05 +0100
    Received: from gateway12.websitewelcome.com ([69.93.154.13])
    	by www7.cpt1.host-h.net with smtp (Exim 4.66)
    	(envelope-from <weiss@rifkinweiss-associates.com>)
    	id 1LzrFg-0004Z2-Vc
    	for recipient@domainname.org; Thu, 30 April 2009 14:50:05 +0100
    Received: (qmail 22695 invoked from network); 30 April 2009 11:52:29 -0000
    Received: from alero.websitewelcome.com (74.52.65.130)
      by gateway12.websitewelcome.com with SMTP; 30 April 2009 11:52:29 -0000
    Received: from localhost ([127.0.0.1]:33224)
    	by alero.websitewelcome.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.69)
    	(envelope-from <weiss@rifkinweiss-associates.com>)
    	id 1LzqIu-0000hV-Ed
    	for recipient@domainname.org; Thu, 30 April 2009 06:49:16 -0500
    Received: from 58.8.63.164 ([58.8.63.164]) by
    	www.rifkinweiss-associates.com (Horde MIME library) with HTTP; Thu, 30 April
    	2009 06:49:16 -0500
    Message-ID: 	<20090430064916.dy115se7b4s0kk8c@www.rifkinweiss-associates.com>
    Date: Thu, 30 April 2009 14:50:05 -0500
    Disposition-Notification-To: weiss@rifkinweiss-associates.com
    From: weiss@rifkinweiss-associates.com
    To: recipient@domainname.org
    Subject: SHARE PURCHASE AGREEMENT OF XXXX
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
    	boundary="=_2trrykyeeh2c"
    Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
    User-Agent: Internet Messaging Program (IMP) H3 (4.1.6)
    X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
    X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - alero.websitewelcome.com
    X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - domainname.org
    X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [47 12] / [47 12]
    X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - rifkinweiss-associates.com
    X-Virus-Scanned: Clear (ClamAV 0.94.2/9309/Thu April 30 06:55:03 2009)
    Delivered-To: domain-recipient@domainname.org
    Rifkin Weiss are offering a share purchase agreement at 50 times the purchase price. The recipient wishes to remain anonymous as she was scammed by Skyline Advisory Group in November 2008; last week Rifkin Weiss called her say they're acting for a private party who wishes to surreptitiously take contral of the company, hence the one-time first-come first-served offer. They seem to use Skype to call landlines.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    11,010
    Is this stock fraud?
    Silence is the scammer's best friend; knowledge is the scammer's worst enemy. 沈黙は詐欺師のよき友達、知識は詐欺師の天敵。Think globally, act globally.

  7. #7
    Bga3905
    Quote Originally Posted by Miyuki View Post
    Is this stock fraud?
    Is this company RIfkin Weiss & Associates a fraudulent company.
    I have been contacted by Bill Lovitt and Kevin M Toomey.
    Location: 342 Green Meadows, Suite 514, Pflugerville, TX 78660

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Celtic Lands
    Posts
    4,646
    @ Cyclops

    thank you very much for your posts and especially for the headers. A quick analysis indicates that the email did not originate from the US.

    -----------

    Received: from 58.8.63.164 ([58.8.63.164]) by
    [www.rifkinweiss-associates.com] (Horde MIME library) with HTTP; Thu, 30 April
    2009 06:49:16 -0500

    WHOIS - 58.8.63.164

    role: TRUE IP ADMINISTRATION
    address: 1 Fortune Town, 14th, 27th Floor,
    address: Ratchadapisek Road, Din Daeng
    address: Din Daeng, Bangkok 10400.
    country: THAILAND

    --------------

    Which is a rather strange place for an email from an American company to originate.
    Stipendia enim peccati mors sunt.
    "Entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem" : Guillelmus de Occam

    Do not annoy the Dragonsfor you are small and crunchy and good with Ketchup.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    I see their website has all content removed and displays only an "under construction" label. Either they're revamoing their website, or it seems this venerable firm has folded...

  10. #10
    ANGRY STEVE

    Angry WEISS RIFKIN

    LOOKS LIKE WEISS RIFIKIN AND ASSOCIATES IS NOW WEISS RIFKIN & PARTNERS. i WAS ASKED IF I WOULD LIKE TO SELL SOME TASTE WATER SHARES I HAD AND WAS TOLD AN INVESTOR WAS TRYING TO GATHER A CONTROLLING NUMBER OF SHARES IN THIS COMPANY . I TOUGHT THIS WAS GREAT i FILLED OUT PAPER WORK FOM WEISS RIFKIN THEN I RECEIVED AN EMAIL FROM A JANCO LAZARUS TRANSFER COMPANY WITH ATTACHED INVOICES FOR TRANSFER FEES AND EXERCISING WARRANTS FOR TASTE WATER TOTAL$15290USD. MICHAEL FOX FROM WIESS RIFIKIN RUNG ME AND I SAID I WAS NOT INTERESTED. GOOGLED ADDRESS FOR WEISS RIFKIN OFF THERE WEBB PAGE AND THEY DO NOT EXIST. P.S I GOT THESE TASTE WATER SHARES FROM EQUIASIA GROUP. THESE BASTARDS NEED STRINGING UP

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
  •