+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51

Thread: Top shop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    8

    Top shop

    PLEASE can anyone on here tell me if they have had any experience or are aware of a company called topshopeu.com?? About a month ago I received an email that they found my CV on a job-site (which is a legitimate website) and they were interested in hiring me. I applied for the position and even had two telephonic interviews, to which I eventually got the job. Sitting here now- after doing some research I am SO embarrassed to tell you what this job entailed. I basically had to receive packages that they purchased on behalf of other companies and re-post it to a different location. Everything seemed completely legitimate (from employment contract to the company website) until I received a bill in the post this morning- from a store where they had bought a laptop. This suddenly made me very suspicious and I just started looking into this line of work over the internet and this sounds like a common scam. PLEASE I just need to know if anyone knows anything about this company??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    869

    Whois domain info

    http://whois.domaintools.com/topshopeu.com
    Domain name: topshopeu.com

    Registrant Contact:
    AA TOP SHOP, INC
    Phillip Richardson
    3456782 fax: 3456782
    034 N. DAVIS HWYPENSACOLA
    Maiami Florida 32503
    us

    Administrative Contact:
    Phillip Richardson
    3456782 fax: 3456782
    034 N. DAVIS HWYPENSACOLA
    Maiami Florida 32503
    us

    Technical Contact:
    Phillip Richardson = ( admin@topshopeu.com )
    3456782 fax: 3456782
    034 N. DAVIS HWYPENSACOLA
    Maiami Florida 32503
    us

    Billing Contact:
    Phillip Richardson
    3456782 fax: 3456782
    034 N. DAVIS HWYPENSACOLA
    Maiami Florida 32503
    us

    Registration Service Provider:
    name: DomainCompany

    DNS:
    ns3.cnmsn.com
    ns4.cnmsn.com

    Created: 2012-02-28
    Expires: 2013-02-28
    A COMPANY webside/domain that is ONLY 1 year old can be a good indication of a scam

    Server information...

    Server Type: Apache/2IP
    Address: 91.202.244.97
    ASN: AS44784
    IP Location: - Ukraine - Vitaliy Lucenko
    Response Code: 200
    Domain Status: Registered And Active Website

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    869
    Yes this sounds very to a job scam / 419 scam.

    The are using you home address for sending there (online) bought goods.
    Good posible that the have used stolen CreditCards to pay the other company.

    That you then have to FW to a address provide by them.
    If something is going to get wrong.. the selling company has only your address.
    So the will complain to you.. when for example the goods are not been payed intime.

    Can you post all the information you have about this person/company that had contact you.
    - used name
    - used phone numbers
    - used email address
    - address etc.. where you have to FW the goods to
    - etc...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    869
    From there contact page: http://topshopeu.com/contacts/
    Contacts
    General inquires: info@topshopeu.com
    Site Problems/Bug Reports: support@topshopeu.com
    Job inquires: vacancy@topshopeu.com

    US Office
    AA TOP SHOP, INC.
    VAT #:FL-P04000109903
    Pensacola FL
    4034 N Davis Hwy
    Pensacola, FL 32503, USA
    Phone: +1-347-3294463

    United Kingdom
    London
    113 Fenchurch St
    London EC3M 5JJ, UK
    Phone: +44-020-32867042
    With google search gives that phone number a link as a NewYork phone number
    http://cidlookup.com/lookup/3473294463/
    CIDLookup for 347-329-4463
    Current Telephone Company:
    Original Telephone Company: Level 3 Communications Llc - Ny
    Original Telephone Company Type: Competitive Local Exchange Carrier (CLEC)
    Estimated City: New York
    Estimated Region: New York
    Estimated Postal Code: 10013
    Equipment Location Code: ELFRNYAWCM0
    Iam sure NY = not close to the FL the claiming @ the side for the USA contact phone number

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    869
    what the scammer does in this case..

    * is using the address information and company name of a real company to look legite for when a customer would do a google search

    * and adding there "own" phone number, as if it is the one from the "real" company.

    * plus using a webside name that looks closely to a real company.

    This all is to desive the coustumer in believing its oke with the provide information on there webside.


    The Fax number on the Whois data => 3456782
    Seems also linked to a other webside..
    http://whois.domaintools.com/netcom-deals.com

    Registrant Contact:
    James Tomasulo
    3456782 fax: 3456782
    2233 SEDGWICK AVE.
    Bronx NY 10468
    us

    Created: 2012-05-03
    Expires: 2013-05-03

    Side is also just 1 year old
    Server information:
    Server Type: Apache/2IP
    Address: 91.202.244.100 [= almost same IP address as 1st webside, same host?? .. i do think its on the same server]
    ASN: AS44784
    IP Location : - Ukraine - Vitaliy Lucenko [= same city as the above webside]
    Response Code: 200
    Domain Status: Registered And Active Website

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    82
    The information scraped by Mister X would strongly suggest it's a scam, but more information is needed to be conclusive. You mentioned a work contract. Redact your personal information and then post that here. It may help.

    For me the biggest indication that it's a scam site is the lack of any company incorporation details and a "warranties" section that is not written in legalese.

    Some legitimate companies do offer similar services, which is why it's so convincing, so you are unlikely to end up with any liability if you do certain things to protect yourself. Make sure you keep copies of the emails that have been sent to you, and keep all the details of the packages that you have been asked to resend as this may help later.

    Finally, why are you being asked to pay for the laptop? I doubt any shop would ship a high value item before payment so you may want to warn them that you did not order the laptop.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for all the info you have gathered! I am just trying to piece everything together.

    1) Attached please find the acceptance email from the company, as well as the hiring contract that they made me sign. https://dl.dropbox.com/u/4054208/Example%20contract.pdf

    Do you think these are valid, and from a valid company?

    I notice that the address of the owner of the company is the following:

    AA TOP SHOP INC
    4034 N Davis Hwy
    Pensacola FL 32503 USA

    But if I googlemap it, it does not look like a big company...

    https://www.google.com/maps?q=&layer...CIoBEJ8CKAAwAw



    2) The letter that I received is from the Fraud Department in a mobile company (this is a mobile company that sells electronics and other items online) mentions that a payment has failed for one of the goods purchased by the company that hired me.The letter is unfortunately not in english, and hard to translate. I will share more once I have done a decent google translate on the document, but there is mention of failed payments and money owing.

    3) What other things can I look for? Is this an extremely well-done scam?

    Thanks so much for your input. This is really appreciated.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Here, there and everywhere.
    Posts
    3,661
    hello ryken and Welcome to AFI.

    Please can you post or pm me the full email headers from the sender of the emails you have received. Please remove your own private details from the header, ie your email address.

    This link may help you if you don't know how to find headers: http://www.emailaddressmanager.com/tips/header.html

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Here, there and everywhere.
    Posts
    3,661
    I can find NO registered entity in the UK for this company.

    A A Top Shop in Florida has the contact telephone number (850) 432-7895 and not as stated above

    Phone: +1-347-3294463

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Sapphire's Strike View Post
    hello ryken and Welcome to AFI.

    Please can you post or pm me the full email headers from the sender of the emails you have received. Please remove your own private details from the header, ie your email address.

    This link may help you if you don;t know how to find headers: http://www.emailaddressmanager.com/tips/header.html
    from: TOP SHOP (HR) vacancy@topshopeu.com via bnc.mailjet.com
    to:
    date:
    subject: For from TOP SHOP (our job offer)
    mailed-by: bnc.mailjet.com
    signed-by: bnc.mailjet.com
    : Important mainly because of the words in the message.

    Is this what you are referring to?
    Thanks for your help ;-)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
  •