Anti-Fraud International  

Go Back   Anti-Fraud International > Welcome > General Scam formats
Register Home / Login Forums FAQ VB Image Host Chat Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Scam formats What they look like. Compare it with your e-mail.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2009, 08:13 AM
Bagheera Bagheera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Johannesburg S. Africa
Posts: 2
Gemstones surety scam

Quote:
Originally Posted by foolmenever View Post
An individual named Govind Prasad (sometimes Govind Prasad Srivastava) based in Jersey City, New Jersey is actively promoting federal trading platforms as a way to create funding for "humanitarian projects". He offers to support entry to the platform by transferring gemstones to an account that can be used as collateral to fund the trading platform.

He has a pdf package put together that uses a fake appraiser by the name of Ernest Malbranck (supported with a fake website gaeaa.org), a fake insurance company, The Multinational Insurance Group, with a fake website (tmigc.com). He also claims to use "The Depository of Manhattan" to store billions of dollars worth of precious gemstones (website: http://depositoryofmanhattan.com/).

Not sure what the ultimate angle is, but, obviously, this reeks of potential for fraud.
I think that the scammer is hoping to realise that potential at this moment in time.
I have been requested to fly to New York next week and assess a number of very large gemstones. Ernest Malbranck and Assoc UK are said to have placed a total value of US$25,283,650,000.00 on the items. The stones are stated to be currently insured by The Multinational Insurance Group of Companies and they are being held in a bulk storage facility named Depository of Manhattan.
All very fishy, confirmed by a quick search of the Net. Many thanks for your informative posting.
Bagheera
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2009, 08:24 AM
Bagheera Bagheera is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Johannesburg S. Africa
Posts: 2
Gemstone scam

I have been requested to fly to New York next week and assess a number of very large gemstones. An appraisal company, Ernest Malbranck and Assoc UK are said to have placed a total value of US$25,283,650,000.00 on the items. The stones are stated to be currently insured by The Multinational Insurance Group of Companies and they are being held in a bulk storage facility named Depository of Manhattan.
The stated sizes and values placed on these stones were incredible especially since they were alledgedly being held in a bulk storage facility.
It smelt very fishy and this was confirmed by a quick search of the Net. Many thanks for your informative posting Foolmenever.
Bagheera
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-06-2009, 11:06 AM
Templar's Avatar
Templar Templar is offline
Samurai
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Akko
Posts: 3,408
Bagheera,

He has been around,

Glad that you have managed to track him down and save yourself a trip and

a lot of smoke and mirrors. Talks of PPP etc.

Here are some links about him.

will

http://antifraudintl.org/showthread....=Govind+Prasad

http://www.network54.com/Forum/27708.../1206112105/DD

http://www.network54.com/Forum/27708...-DD+-+03-23-08



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bagheera View Post
I think that the scammer is hoping to realise that potential at this moment in time.
I have been requested to fly to New York next week and assess a number of very large gemstones. Ernest Malbranck and Assoc UK are said to have placed a total value of US$25,283,650,000.00 on the items. The stones are stated to be currently insured by The Multinational Insurance Group of Companies and they are being held in a bulk storage facility named Depository of Manhattan.
All very fishy, confirmed by a quick search of the Net. Many thanks for your informative posting.
Bagheera

DEPOSITORYOFMANHATTAN.COM WHOIS
Updated: 1 second ago
Registration Service Provided By: TALKING SYSTEMZ CORPORATE
Contact: +91.2226792899
Website: http://www.talkingsystemz.com

Domain Name: DEPOSITORYOFMANHATTAN.COM

Registrant:
Depository of Manhattan
Joseph Redignote (@gmail.com)
28, 2nd Avenue,
New York
New York,10001
US
Tel. +1.347220393

Creation Date: 14-Oct-2006
Expiration Date: 14-Oct-2009

Domain servers in listed order:
ts2.allwebserver.com
ts1.allwebserver.com


Administrative Contact:
Depository of Manhattan
Joseph Redignote (@gmail.com)
28, 2nd Avenue,
New York
New York,10001
US
Tel. +1.347220393

Technical Contact:
Depository of Manhattan
Joseph Redignote (@gmail.com)
28, 2nd Avenue,
New York
New York,10001
US
Tel. +1.347220393

Billing Contact:
Depository of Manhattan
Joseph Redignote (@gmail.com)
28, 2nd Avenue,
New York
New York,10001
US
Tel. +1.347220393

Status:LOCKED
Note: This Domain Name is currently Locked. In this status the domain
name cannot be transferred, hijacked, or modified. The Owner of this
domain name can easily change this status from their control panel.
This feature is provided as a security measure against fraudulent domain name hijacking.

The data in this whois database is provided to you for information purposes only,
that is, to assist you in obtaining information about or related
to a domain name registration record. We make this information available "as is",
and do not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a whois query, you agree that you will
use this data only for lawful purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this data to:
(1) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that stress
or load this whois database system providing you this information; or
(2) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited,
commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail, electronic mail, or by telephone.
The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or other use of this data is expressly prohibited without
prior written consent from us. The Registrar of record is Netlynx, Inc..
We reserve the right to modify these terms at any time.
By submitting this query, you agree to abide by these terms.


Information Updated: Thu, 6 Aug 2009

RELATED DOMAINS FOR DEPOSITORYOFMANHATTAN.COM

IT IS A SPOOFED WEBSITE.


The address actually is :http://www.manhattanministorage.com/

Last edited by Templar : 08-06-2009 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2010, 03:52 PM
whooelse whooelse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Depository of Manhattan

I have seen this supposed facility listed several times for gem deals that I thought were fake. Anyone who knows Manhattan knows that there would be no facility of this type at that address. Even if you don't know it, you can Google street view it and you will see for yourself. There is also no Manhattan Mini Storage at this address.

The web site lists no street number on the address and the wrong zip code. The phone number looks like a cell number.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.